FAQ: Why can I delete a wallet file on iPhone or iPad without entering its password?
eWallet for iPhone & iPad allows you to delete a wallet file without entering that wallet file’s password. There are two reasons why we do not prompt for the wallet password:
- Requiring a password may make it impossible for you to delete a wallet file if you forget its password. In that case, instead of deleting the file that you cannot access, it would have to remain on your iOS device.
- Requiring a password will not stop someone from deleting your eWallet data — it will only stop them from deleting your wallet from within the eWallet program on your iPhone or iPad Anyone with physical access to your device could simply delete the eWallet app, which will delete all stored data as well (that is how iOS and iPadOS are designed). If a user is malicious enough to want to delete your wallet file, all they need to do is delete the eWallet program without even opening it up.
We strongly suggest that you use our Mac or Windows version of eWallet to sync and backup your eWallet data from your iPhone or iPad. Not only will syncing keep a copy on your computer in case something happens to the device, but you can edit and view your data without needing your device in hand.
Note that for eWallet 8.12 and later on iPhone & iPad, eWallet will first move your deleted wallet to a deleted files area. See the Backup & Deleted Wallets feature on iPhone & iPad article for more details.
- iPad ,