FAQ: What does upgrading my eWallet desktop software do to my current eWallet data?
Nothing! Installing the eWallet program on top of itself or upgrading to a new version will not overwrite or delete your existing data data.
eWallet will not delete your wallet file, even when installing an upgrade. The only way to delete your file is to delete it from your computer yourself.
When installing an upgrade:
You may be asked to convert your eWallet data to a newer format, but all of your existing data will be available in the updated file.
Note: Windows Mobile 5 and newer requires that existing software be uninstalled when installing an update. If you have a My Wallet.wlt file in My Documents on your PDA, eWallet will ask if you want to keep or delete it while the uninstall process runs. Choose to keep your file unless you know for certain that it does not contain your data.
After you've installed a new version of eWallet:
In some cases, the new installation of the eWallet software may open up a sample wallet file instead of your usual wallet file.
However, you should be able to access all of your previous files.
If eWallet opens a sample wallet on your desktop:
If eWallet opens a sample wallet on your Windows Mobile PDA: